Rustic Chicken ~ a southern inspired dish

Today I’ve not exactly got a recipe to share; just a story and a little inspiration perhaps. Tricia, one of my cooks at work, makes this awesome dish she calls Rustic Chicken ~ I am not sure if it’s an official name for what she makes but it’s one of those warm and homey meals that remind me of mom’s cooking.  It’s served with rice.  I’ll begin with a run down of the basic ingredients she uses then give you my latest spin.

 

 

 

 

Rustic Chicken Basics

  • Smoked Sausage
  • Chicken
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Jalapeno
  • Bok Choy
  • Water

So, I’ve already got the chicken breast thawed and ask Charles what sounds good today.  He asks if I’ve got the stuff for Rustic Chicken ~ of course I don’t but hey, I can always wing it and create something …. where to begin…

Aha, Smoked Sausage, nope, none in the house but ….. got some awesome sausages for Christmas from my sister Jenny and brother-in-law Jeff.  Of course we go straight to the package called Kitchen Sink – haven’t read all the details yet, but looks like they make it with all the “other” parts. Who knew there were “other” parts after making sausage.  Don’t be frightened this is actually good handcrafted Indiana meat – thanks to the Smoking Goose in Indianapolis.

Ok, got the sausge and chicken.  Happen to have onion, garlic, and jalapeno but no bok choy ~ celery will do!  Going to go with Chicken Stock for the water – we love full flavor.

I will post a recipe sometime but just wanted to share this version with you and hope to inspire some creativity.

Leave a Reply

