Cheesy Buffalo Crab Cakes ~ a new twist!

I had some left over crab that I wanted to try something new with.  This wasn’t fake crab … this was the good stuff.  King Crab Legs fresh from the shell.  We’d eaten crab legs a couple days before and had cooked a little more than we could handle; rarely does this happen so I had to take this chance to make something different with the crab than just a plain old crab cake.  I contemplated deviled crab; but my boss had created these buffalo chicken balls this winter for a party; I couldn’t get the idea out of my mind to try a buffalo crab cake.

I am not sure I love these ~ but I did like them and I will try them again with some changes … thinking some crunchy celery and jalapeno would be great; maybe even making them into a smaller more bite size appetizer will be the key.  I’ll post the recipe as I made them today; I feel like it’s a great concept just needs a bit of adaptation for perfection.

Cheesy Buffalo Crab Cakes

  • 8 o.z. Crab Meat
  • 2 Green Onion – thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbs Cream Cheese
  • 2 o.z. Shredded Cheddar
  • 1/2 tsp fresh parsley
  • 2 Tbs Hot Sauce ~ I used Franks Red Hot

Mix all of the ingredients together; form into patties.  I made 4 ~ like I mentioned before I think smaller patties would be better … something bite  size.  Heat skillet over medium heat.  Add olive oil.  Once skillet and oil are hot dip patties in flour and fry.  My large patties took about 3 1/2 minutes on each side.

Check out the pictures below.  It only took 3 of these legs to make 8 o.z. ~ plus I had to eat some while I was cleaning it so who knows how much there really was!  If you try them out let me know what you think ~ It was just an experiment to try something new.

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you enjoy ~ Kimberly

4 thoughts on “Cheesy Buffalo Crab Cakes ~ a new twist!

Leave a Reply

