Mini Sweet Potato Tarts

I felt like today I exhausted my creative juices at work and drew a blank when I got home; it was one of those rare days I didn’t cook anything at home …. but I sure did cook up a storm at work.  I have to share the mini sweet potato tarts!  Wow were they good.  I wish I had taken a picture.

Here’s the basic recipe.

Mini Sweet Potato Tart 

  • 2 cup sweet mashed potato
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Mix together the above ingredients ~ adjust the sweetness to your liking and you may find you need more milk depending on the moisture of your mashed sweet potato ~ ours are baked in a syrup so they are on the sweeter and moister side compared to say a baked or boiled sweet potato.  Take some premade pie dough or make your own  and cut into circles with a biscuit cutter ~ I used a ring to a mason jar to cut the circles.  Tuck the crust into mini muffin tins bringing up the sides to the top.  Spoon filling into crusts and bake for about 12 – 15 minutes at 325 degrees; until crust is done and filling has set up.

I was making a big batch today and actually made a couple of sweet potato casseroles with the filling so I am not sure exactly how much this would make. I would estimate a couple of dozen; maybe more depending how much filling you put in each.  You could make this as a regular pie if desired or serve as a casserole.

If you wanted to add more flavor sweet potato pie is always good with a squeeze of lemon in it or use buttermilk in place of the milk.  Top with whipped cream if desired or maybe even some pecans.  I always like to be creative when cooking so use your imagination and you never know what you will create next!

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

