Vegetarian Fried Rice

Fried rice is one of those things I don’t really have much experience making.  I enjoy it and going vegetarian wasn’t exactly my intent when I started making it today.  I just wanted a great side dish to go with the fried shrimp and homemade asian zing dipping sauce. In fact when I took my first bite I blurted out “there was bacon cooked in the fridge”; well that and I “forgot the water chestnuts”.

It was one of those recipes I did with substitutions.  Normally I would have used celery but I was out; so cabbage instead.  As for green onion diced yellow onion would have to do.  I was just trying to make this with what I had on hand.  The results were very tasty.  There are a few changes I would make on the next batch.  Like cooking the rice ahead, cooling, and maybe rinsing to keep it from being sticky.

We were just debating if vegetarians eat eggs … if you don’t eat eggs leave them out.  Our eggs however were free range with a vegetarian diet if that helps!

Vegetarian Fried Rice

  • 1 cup raw rice ~ Jasimine long grain cooking rice is my favorite
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/8 cup diced onion
  • 1/4 cup  mixed sweet red peppers
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 cup cabbage
  • 4 eggs beaten

Cook rice for 10 minutes; the rice will still be chewy.  Rinse the rice if desired; I chose not to as to maintain the nutrients but the rice was sticky when finished.  Heat olive oil in large skillet or wok.  Add onion, peppers, and crushed red pepper sauté 3-4 minutes until tender.  Add ginger, rice, garlic, peas, and soy sauce;  continue cooking about 5 more minutes over medium heat.  Add cabbage heat through; push rice to sides of pan and add egg to middle stirring to break up as it cooks.  Toss everything together and serve.

Enjoy and don’t be afraid to add your favorite things ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Vegetarian Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Asian Zing Sauce ~ a spicy dipping sauce for shrimp and wings « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

