Saucy BBQ Pork Chops with Noodles

This is my variation of one of my favorite childhood recipes.  Mom made this and taught us to make this when we were kids.  With 5 kids and a farm to tend to something that needs little attention was always a plus for her.  I think the original recipe is in one of those Better Home and Gardens hard cover collection books.  We always made extra sauce and served it over noodles (the original used a small can of tomato soup for 6 servings ~ we used the big cans or a 2-3 small cans).

Any cut of pork chop works.  I prefer the bone-in center cut for better flavor, but you do run the risk of it all falling apart so if you have small children boneless may work better for you so you don’t have to watch out for lost bone fragments.

Saucy BBQ Pork Chops

  • 4-6 Pork Chops
  • 1 26 o.z. can tomato soup
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbs yellow prepared mustard
  • 1 tsp italian herbs
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Over medium-high heat brown pork chops on both sides (use non-stick or add some oil to pan if desired).  Mix together remaining ingredients; pour over pork chops making sure thoroughly coated.  Reduce heat to low and simmer covered for 1-2 hours until tender.  I tend more towards the 2 hour time as I like them falling apart.  Flip chops and stir sauce occasionally. Serve with noodles smothered in the BBQ sauce.

As I mentioned I think the original was in a Better Homes and Gardens Book.  It called for a small can of soup and used dry italian dressing mix instead of the herbs and seasoning mentioned.  To be honest I usually don’t measure anything when I make this so sometimes I add more vinegar or mustard and sometimes I make it spicier.  Sometimes I add onion; the original had dried minced onion flakes in it.  Adjust to your tastes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

