Asian Zing Sauce ~ a spicy dipping sauce for shrimp and wings

I could not get enough of this sauce when Charles made it with our wings Sunday night.  In fact the leftovers I used the other day with the fried shrimp and vegetarian fried rice.  I couldn’t say if I liked the shrimp or wings better.  All I do know is that next time I do a stir fry this is going in too!  It reminded me almost of a spicy duck sauce; I love the flavor combination of this recipe and the thickness was perfect for dipping.

Asian Zing Sauce

  • 1 jalapeno ~ minced
  • 2 cloves garlic ~ grated
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ginger ~ grated
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2/3 cup corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 Tbs rice wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbs corn starch

Combine first 9 ingredients; everything but vinegar and corn starch.  Over medium heat bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes to combine flavors.  Whisk together corn starch and vinegar; stir into simmering sauce until thickened.

Enjoy; as you can see by the empty bowl I did!  ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Asian Zing Sauce ~ a spicy dipping sauce for shrimp and wings

  1. Pingback: Asian Inspired BBQ Spare Ribs « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

