Blackened Ahi Tuna and Sliced Avocado

We decided on tuna today for lunch; we tend to eat quite a bit of fish.  I don’t think I could ever get bored with fish, there are so many kinds and so many different ways to prepare.    A few weeks ago Charles had picked up a piece of Tuna and on a whim I blackened it while we were preparing dinner. It was one of those Monday’s that we start cooking and maybe 4 or 5 hours later we finally eat so the snack was much appreciated.  In any case I used my homemade chili powder for the seasoning.  I’ll post the recipe for my chili powder soon; I came up with it one day while making chili only to find out I was chili powder-less and too lazy to go to the store.  Ok, back to today’s lunch.

Blackened Tuna with Avocado

  • 2 tuna steaks (5 o.z. each)
  • chili powder
  • 1 avocado
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 lime

Here is where I wish I had a good cast iron skillet.  I used my favorite non-stick and heated over medium-high heat.  Meanwhile season the tuna with your blackening seasoning of choice on both sides.

Place seasoned tuna in hot skillet and sear for 3 minutes on first side.  It will smoke so have a fan on and a window open if possible.  Flip and cook another 2 – 2 1/2 minutes.  Remove from heat and set on plate with another plate inverted over top; allow to rest while you prepare the avocado.  Cut avocado in half and remove pit.  Slice into 1/4 inch slices and remove from skin.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and juice from 1/2 lime.  Uncover tuna and squeeze remaining half lime over pieces.  Top with avocado and serve.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

2/6/2012

Just wanted to follow-up with a revisit.  I made this again for dinner …. backed the time down to 2 minutes each side to keep the tuna cooked to medium.  Enjoyed with carrots and rice; very delicious once again.

Leave a Reply

