Chili Powder ~ Homemade Recipe ~ Make it your way!

I’d mentioned yesterday that I had made my own chili powder after unexpectedly running out one day.  I really enjoy my combination ~ of course the results will only be as good as the ingredients you use so don’t expect fantastic chili powder if you use the old cumin that came in the spice rack you got when you married years ago!  I used Penzeys and Marion Kay spices for the most part but what ever your favorite trusted brands are will work perfectly.  Go with the flavors you enjoy!

Chili Powder

  • Chipotle Pepper ~ ground
  • Cayenne Pepper ~ ground
  • Paprika
  • Cumin Seed ~ crushed with mortar and pestle
  • Crushed Red Pepper ~ flakes
  • Granulated Garlic
  • Mexican Oregano

I used equal amounts of all 7 ingredients.   I began by crushing my cumin then adding the other bulkier spices (crushed red, mexican oregano) mashing and stirring everything together with my pestle. Adjust to your tastes.  If you don’t care for garlic or cumin as much adjust the amounts to suit your desire or choose a different pepper than chipotle if you prefer!

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

2 thoughts on “Chili Powder ~ Homemade Recipe ~ Make it your way!

  1. Pingback: Blackened Ahi Tuna and Sliced Avocado « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

  2. Pingback: Simple Chili ~ a quick and easy recipe « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

