Scalloped Potatoes ~ quick and easy; creamy and cheesy!

This is one of those recipes that I am still tinkering with.  I like the minimal ingredients ~ basically 3 ~ and the ease of construction is a plus.  I really am not sure how I would change what I made today; perhaps a little less cream or a little longer cook time.  Although I found the extra sauce on my plate was perfect for dredging my fried chicken through so there wasn’t a drop left and to me the potatoes were cooked to perfection (not too mushy) so I would hesitate to cook longer.  Anyway, here’s the recipe ~ give it a try!

Scalloped Potatoes

  • 1 lb thinly sliced potatoes
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 6 o.z. shredded cheese
  • salt, pepper, and garlic powder

Wash and slice potatoes.  I used some baby potatoes I had on hand ~ purple, red, and yellow.  Place half of the potatoes in a greased 2 quart casserole.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic; top with 1/2 the cheese and 1/2 the cream.  Repeat with remaining ingredients.  Ending with cheese on top and a sprinkle of paprika if desired.

Bake in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.  Bump heat to 400 degrees and bake another 10 minutes.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes ~ the resting is important to set up the sauce.

I used extra sharp cheddar and was fairly liberal with the garlic, pepper, and salt.  Season to suit your tastes. Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

