Butternut Squash Soup

I’ve seen quite a few recipes for butternut squash soup. Most lean more towards the sweeter side; I opted to make a spicy version.  This did come out with quite a bit of heat.  I am sure my chicken stock already had a bit of a kick but the 1/4 tsp of cayenne packed the rest of the punch.  I would suggest leaving out the cayenne for the faint of heart or adding a dash at a time if you like a bit of zip. I will however post the recipe as I made it and let you decide how much heat you would like.

Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cup butternut squash
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne ~ adjust to your taste
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp fresh parsley

Prep squash; peel and dice into small cubes.  (I posted yesterday an easy prep technique) Heat chicken stock over medium high to a simmer.  Add diced squash, salt, pepper, garlic, and cayenne.  Simmer about 10 – 15 minutes or until squash is very tender.

Add cream and parsley and heat through. I used my handheld blender to partially puree; I left some lumps of squash to add texture.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

