Creamed Tuna on Toast

I had a craving for some creamed tuna on toast.  Usually I just throw it together so I can’t say I have a special recipe, but today I measured my ingredients so I could share.  I added additional salt and pepper to my serving so feel free to adjust to your liking.

Creamed tuna

  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • a tiny dash of cayenne if desired
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 can tuna
  • 1/4 cup peas (optional)

Begin by melting butter over medium heat.  Add flour salt, pepper, and cayenne. Stir together until mixture begins to bubble about 1 minute; continue stirring an additional minute.  Add milk; increase heat to medium high stirring frequently.  Bring to a simmer;  mixture will begin to bubble at edges, about 6-8 minutes;  reduce heat to medium and stir constantly for an additional 2 minutes. Add tuna and peas; heat through and serve over toast.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

7 thoughts on “Creamed Tuna on Toast

  1. Thank you for bringing back fond childhood memories of my Mom making creamed tuna and peas. Mom always made a big pot of this. Your recipe was tasty and easy to make.

  2. I love to make creamed tuna on toast… But my mom made it by sauteeing celery and onion in butter first, then making that into the cream sauce and then adding the tuna and peas😍😍😍yum

  3. I also love cream tuna, mymother would sautee celery and onion in butter first then make that into the cream sauce… The add the tuna and peas

Leave a Reply

