Twice Baked Potatoes

We wanted to try some little twice baked potatoes today.  I saw a picture using baby red potatoes but couldn’t find any I liked the looks of at the grocery so I picked out some baby Yukon gold potatoes instead.  These were very tasty.  Larger potatoes will work too or use your favorite ~ I’m anxious to try this with those purple potatoes I pick up from time to time just to see how the color turns out!

Twice Baked Baby Potato

  • 6 small Yukon gold potato ~ 1 1/2 – 2  inch diameter
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 Tbs sour cream
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 strip cooked bacon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Start by baking your potatoes.  I used a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  Once potatoes are tender remove from oven.  Allow to cool for a few minutes so they are easier to handle.  Cut in half.

Remove as much of the potato from the skin as possible.

I yielded about a cup of potato from the 6; adjust the measurements as needed if you have more or less potato from your skins. Add butter and cream to the potato pulp;  mix well; when I first added the cream it seamed soupy but everything pulled together as I continued to stir. Stir in sour cream and remaining ingredients.  Fill shells with mixture.

My shells were full and overflowed when I baked them.  This could have been prevented if I’d used small baking dishes to keep them upright better or used less filling; of course the filling is the good stuff so I didn’t mind them overflowing.  sprinkle with additional cheese if desired.  Bake at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes; broil for about 5 additional minutes to brown the tops.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

