Snickerdoodles ~ Cinnamon and Sugar Cookies

I hate snickerdoodles. Well, when I was 9 years old I hated them.  It was my first year of 4-H and snickerdoodles were the cookie to make.  I had 3 older sisters who had made their blue ribbon snickerdoodles and I was not going to have any of it.  I think I made some fairly un-memorable chocolate cookies against my mothers wishes; to be honest I couldn’t say what ribbon I even got. So, I think it’s safe to say I wasn’t grand champion or anything special and who knows where that recipe has even ended up.

Well, these aren’t perhaps any 4-H state fair grand champion cookies but I whipped up a batch of snickerdoodles tonight and they were pretty tasty. Maybe I don’t hate snickerdoodles after all!

Snickerdoodles

  • 3 Tbs shortening
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon

Mix together shortening and butter.  Add sugar, cream of tartar, and baking soda.  Add egg and vanilla.  Stir in flour.  Form dough into small balls ~ 18 – 20 balls per batch.

Mix 2 Tbs sugar and 1 Tbs cinnamon in small bowl.  Roll balls in sugar mixture.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 10 – 11 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

