My Favorite Corned Beef Technique ~ oven roasted!

Mom always boiled corned beef and served it with potatoes and cabbage ~ one of my favorite meals.  I love it anyway it’s cooked, but for some reason I decided one day to roast one instead.  I’ve tried different techniques, sometimes it’s more of a braise, other times just straight into the oven, but anyway you go about it the flavor is great when baked. I even have taken to corning my own beefs; I will share that recipe and technique soon.  In fact I just made some at work last weekend for St. Patty’s Day; however at home I bought a corned beef and will show that for my recipe today.

I used a 2 3/4 pound flat cut corned beef piece.   Begin by seasoning with cayenne and black pepper if desired.  In hot skillet sear each side until browned.  Add 1/2 cup of water to pan to deglaze.  Slice one onion into wedges or thick slices;  place corned beef in casserole pan on onion pieces and pour the pan water over top.  Cover with foil and roast at 325 degrees for about 3 hours.  No peeking!

Allow to cool for 20 minutes.  Remove foil and serve immediately or cover with plastic wrap; refrigerate overnight.

For some amazing sandwiches slice into desired thickness and enjoy on your favorite bread ~ I love pumpernickel for these.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “My Favorite Corned Beef Technique ~ oven roasted!

Leave a Reply

