Homemade Taco Seasoning

I mentioned yesterday I would be making tacos today.  I just wanted to share my seasoning recipe.  This is a spicy version and I like to add salsa or tomato juice to add even more flavor.  I used ground beef but if you prefer chicken or pork just adjust to your tastes.

Taco Seasoning

  • 1 Tbs cumin seed
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 tsp mexican oregano
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp granulated garlic
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

In mortar mix together all ingredients; make sure cumin seeds have been slightly crushed.

Add to 1 pound cooked ground beef.  Add 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup salsa or tomato juice.  Stir in beans and any other desired ingredients.  I used the beans and olives leftover from the layered dip I made yesterday.  Corn relish or jalapeno would make a nice addition too.  Add additional salt and pepper if desired;  I did add a little more salt to mine.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

7 thoughts on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. The other day I was thinking about how to make taco seasoning because I would always have the meat but not the seasoning packages but now I can make my own = ) , Great post

  2. Pingback: Cilantro Lime Sour Cream « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

  3. Pingback: Chicken Tostadas ~ with salsa fresco, guacamole, and cilantro lime sour cream « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

  4. Pingback: Easy Broiled Shrimp with Pepper and Onions « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

  5. Pingback: Shrimp Quesadilla « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

  6. Pingback: Sloppy Nachos « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

