Cheesy Dijon Mac and Cheese

I needed to make a fairly quick lunch today so I didn’t want to take the time to bake a macaroni and cheese.  I decided to go with a cheese sauce with a hint of Dijon for a tasty kick.  This sauce would be great on broccoli too.

Cheesy Dijon Mac and Cheese

  • 2 cups macaroni
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 1 Tbs flour
  • 1/4 tsp each – cayenne, salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar

Cook macaroni according to package directions.  Meanwhile in medium sauce pan melt butter over medium heat.  Stir in flour and cook for about 2 minutes adding cayenne, salt, pepper, and garlic while cooking.  Add cream and cook until thickened.  Stir in mustard and add cheddar a little at a time until all of the cheese is melted. Drain cooked pasta and stir in sauce.

I think when I reheat the leftovers I will add a little milk or cream to loosen it up.  I really did enjoy the way the Dijon played off the cheddar; feel free to use your favorite cheese.  I am sure Gruyère would be fantastic.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

