Fried Chicken ~ home cooked goodness

I decided to fry chicken tonight.  I am by no means a great chicken fryer; my mom however makes some mean fried chicken.  I thought I’d give it a go with the chicken legs I had in my refrigerator though and it came out pretty good.  There are hundreds of different ways and techniques for frying chicken. I think I should have used more seasoning.  Perhaps next time I will season the chicken with the salt and pepper before dipping in the flour.  All and all not bad.  Don’t be afraid to give chicken frying a try!

Fried Chicken

  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 chicken legs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

 

Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat till hot; oil should be about 1/4 – 1/2 inch deep.  Mix together flour and remaining spice ingredients.  I test my oil with a little of the flour to see if it sizzles; I also checked today with my thermometer and it read about 325 degrees (a little hotter by the time I actually got the chicken in the pan.  Once oil is hot dip chicken in flour and spice mixture and place in frying pan.  You will likely need to decrease the burner temperature as you go so as to keep the chicken from “popping” hot oil at you.  I had rather large legs and cooked them for 10 minutes on the first side flipping over and cooking another 5 minutes.  I cooked an additional 5 minutes turning the chicken about a 1/4 turn to hit the lightest side. My chicken was actually a bit hotter than recommended; my thermometer read 175 degrees; 165 is minimum recommended on most recipes.  Juices will be clear when chicken is done and meat will be firm.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

