Homemade Pizza ~ Part 3 …. The Results

The pizza turned out great.  We really enjoyed the crust, it was crispy yet not to thin and the sauce was perfect.  Next time I think we’ll make the mozzarella again just to finish out the homemade touches.

I think the key to the crust was making it the day before and refrigerating over night.  It was a very mild dough I used very little yeast so it wasn’t at all overpowering.  I think next time I may up the seasonings a bit.  Perhaps double the salt and garlic or sprinkle the dough with come additional garlic and maybe some parmesan before baking.

I like to bake the crust for 10 minutes at 425 degrees before building.  I think this helps make a crispier crust and keeps from having a doughy center.  I don’t have the ideal pizza stones so I used my 11 X 17 baking sheets.  The dough stretched very well on its own; no need to roll.  Pierce the dough a few times with a fork before baking to keep from getting large air pockets.

Once the crust has been prebaked (it won’t be cooked all the way through) add sauce.  Don’t go too heavy on the sauce.  It will take about a 1/2 cup of sauce to make this size pizza.  Adjust to your liking; my recommendation if you prefer extra sauce would be to toss your toppings with some sauce instead of spreading a thick layer.

Top with your favorite toppings.  I used italian sausage, onion, green pepper, and spinach.  I cooked all of it before topping.  The veggies were a little more cooked than when you toss them on raw but I liked the flavor better this way.  Either works well.  Sprinkle with cheese.  I used fresh mozzarella pearls and grated parmesan.  The pearls are good but they do tend to be a little wet.  I drained them well but still ended up with a little moisture being released as it baked.   Any kind of cheese works great; just pick your favorite.

Once the pizza has been built to your liking bake an additional 12 – 15 minutes depending on amount of toppings used.  This technique works well with just about any crust and sauce so don’t be afraid to give any recipe a try. The leftovers were great too; cold, microwaved and baked; baked of course was the best ~ just bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes to reheat slices.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Homemade Pizza ~ Part 3 …. The Results

Leave a Reply

