Seafood Broil ~ Shrimp and Scallops

We decided to try a broiled seafood dinner tonight.  We picked out some bay scallops and shrimp.  I must say it was pretty good however we both agree that some changes are due next time we give this a go.  I will post as me made it and give my suggestions at the end.  Let me know what you think if you give it a try; I love hearing feedback!

Seafood Broil

  • 12 o.z. bay scallops
  • 12 o.z. shrimp ~ peeled
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 6 clove garlic
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • zest of one lemon and the juice of half
  • 1 Tbs sherry
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp paprika

Rinse and drain seafood well; pat dry with paper towels.  Rub softened butter on 2 small foil pans.

In bowl combine scallops, shrimp, garlic, salt, pepper, crushed red, lemon zest, lemon juice, and sherry.

In separate bowl combine bread crumbs, parmesan, and paprika.

Pour seafood combination onto baking pans and top with bread crumb mixture.

Broil 4 inches from heat for 6 – 7 minutes.  Move pans to lower rack and broil another 3 – 4 minutes until seafood is cooked through.

Ok, so now my suggestions for next time I try.  I enjoyed the overall flavor but it was plenty spicy (I did use 1 tsp crushed red though; not the 1/2 listed above).  The garlic and thyme were perfect.  I think the sherry brought out enough flavor that both sherry and lemon weren’t necessary; but I am not sure which I would opt for ~ probably the lemon as it’s more likely to be on hand.  The bread crumbs perhaps should be tossed with a bit of melted butter and the parmesan seemed unnoticeable in the overall scheme of the dish; although I do love parmesan!

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Seafood Broil ~ Shrimp and Scallops

Leave a Reply

