Chicken with Lemon, Capers, and Pasta

I was fixing Charles lunch today when I decided some capers would be delicious.  I didn’t exactly make a piccata, but very similar flavors. Angel hair pasta seemed like the perfect touch and just as I was finished Charles comes to the kitchen to see what I am doing; only to remind me he wasn’t taking lunch today as they are giving away hot dogs at work.  So, I imagine he will come home complaining of heart burn and I will remind him of the fabulous lunch I made for him that is still waiting in the fridge for tomorrow!  I had the tiniest taste and I think it will be delicious!

Chicken with Lemon, Capers, and Pasta

  • 1 boneless chicken breast – sliced or diced
  • salt, pepper, and a dash of cayenne if desired
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 2 tsp capers – drained and rinsed
  • 2 o.z. uncooked angel hair pasta – cooked according to package directions

Heat olive oil over medium heat.  Season chicken with salt, pepper, and cayenne (if desired).  Add chicken to skillet and sauté 5 minutes until browned on one side.  Flip pieces over and sprinkle with lemon zest.  Continue cooking until chicken is cooked through; another 5 minutes.  Add lemon juice and capers; remove from heat and pour over cooked pasta.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

