Homemade Chicken Salad ~ Leftover Chicken with Hard-boiled Egg

I know I’ve been on a bit of a chicken run for a few days but I overstocked and needed to use it all up.  I finished off the grilled whole chicken (a recipe I didn’t even post!) with this chicken salad.  I had part of the breast leftover and knew Charles would enjoy some homemade chicken salad on his lunch break.  I just went with a simple celery and egg version.  I think it was quite tasty; if only he’d remembered the crusty bread I’d gotten for him he’d have enjoyed it even more!

Chicken Salad

  • 3/4 cup leftover cooked chicken – diced
  • 2 Tbs mayonnaise – more or less to taste
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced celery
  • 1 Tbs thinly sliced green onion
  • 1 hard-boiled egg – peeled and diced
  • a pinch of celery seed

Combine chicken, mayo, mustard, celery, onion, salt and pepper.

I like to add the egg near the end so as not to break it up too much; add additional mayonnaise if needed ~ I added about a teaspoon more.

Sprinkle with a pinch of celery seed and stir; refrigerate until ready to serve.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Homemade Chicken Salad ~ Leftover Chicken with Hard-boiled Egg

  1. Pingback: Poached Chicken Breast ~ making quick chicken salad « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

