Scallops and Spaghetti Squash

I’ve been experimenting lately.  If you read my “apple crisp” post you will see that it isn’t always a success.  This time I had wonderful flavor but the final result didn’t have the eye appeal I was going for.  Tasty none-the-less and I will definitely do again with a couple of changes.  I believe I should have heated the prepared spaghetti squash in separate skillet and served the scallops over the top.  I didn’t take into account the amount of moisture still in the squash so my dish was a little wet.

Scallops and Spaghetti Squash

  • 1/2 spaghetti squash (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 pound scallops
  • 2 cloves garlic – minced
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • salt and pepper
  • a dash of cayenne if desired
  • a few parsley sprigs ~ chopped

First prepare the spaghetti squash.  I went with baking whole (pierce a few time with fork) for about 45 minutes.  I did this in advanced and refrigerated overnight before proceeding.  Once cooled cut in half and remove seeds; using fork remove squash from skin.

In non-stick skillet over medium high heat add scallops; season with salt and pepper and cayenne if using.  Cook for about 5 minutes until the moisture in the pan is starting to evaporate.  Add butter as this happens and stir in garlic.  I then added the squash and heated through about 3 – 4 more minutes.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

Like I mentioned above I think I should have heated the squash separately and drained instead of adding to scallop mixture; still quite delicious even if it wasn’t beautiful.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

3 thoughts on “Scallops and Spaghetti Squash

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash and Toasted Garlic « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

