Skillet Pot Roast ~ Chuck Roast with carrots and potatoes

I love finding a piece of beef marked down.  This week it was a package of chuck steak; two small steaks weighing about 1 1/2 pounds. Certainly not fit for grilling; at least not to the medium rare I prefer my steak so I decided a roast would be delicious.

I went with just a stove top cook for these.  It took about 2 hours total time.  I always begin by seasoning with salt and pepper and browning the beef of both sides.  This takes about 4 – 5 minutes each side.  Once browned I added a half cup of water and covered.  Reduce heat to low and allow to slowly simmer for about an hour.  Prepare a few potatoes ~ I used about 8 baby reds cut in half.  Peel a few carrots; I love carrots so I went with 6 cut in half.  Charles likes celery so I added a couple of stalks of celery and one onion cut into quarters.  Place veggies under meat after first hour has passed.

Continue simmering another hour or so until vegetables and meat are tender.  Once tender remove meat and veggies from pan. If desired make some gravy with the drippings or serve with a little butter, salt, and pepper on the potatoes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

