Spicy Red Beans and Rice with Chorizo Sausage

I made some red beans a couple of days ago.  Not perhaps my best red bean recipe but pretty good.  I think I should maybe back off on the jalapeno a bit and add a few more herbs.  Over all very tasty, just a bit spicy.  This was my first experience with chorizo; I opted to grill mine.  Great flavor; the texture was a bit different then I expected I will have to try again though.  This time I grilled the sausage, perhaps next time I will sauté the sausage instead.

Red Beans and Rice with Chorizo Sausage

  • 1  cup dry red beans
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 cups stock ~ chicken or ham ~I’d frozen some ham stock; but chicken stock works well too
  • 1/2 cup onion
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 3 – 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • pepper and salt
  • 1/2 pound chorizo sausage ~ cook as desired; I grilled mine

Rinse beans and add to water.  Bring to boil; cook one minute cover and let stand for one hour. Drain bean and rinse; add to stock, onion, diced celery, sliced jalapeno, minced garlic, and thyme.  Bring just to a boil; reduce to low and simmer for about one hour or until beans are tender.  Add salt and pepper to taste add cooked crumbled sausage.  Serve with rice.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

