Chunky Tomato Basil Salad Dressing

I wanted to make a nice salad with our lasagna so I decided to go with a vinegar based dressing and fresh tomatoes.  Not exactly a vinaigrette but a nice tangy herb dressing none-the-less.  Traditionally vinaigrettes have about 3 to 1 ratio of oil to vinegar and I just don’t see the need to add that much oil to salad dressing.  My love of cheese takes care of any fat I may be missing out on so I like to get my flavor from the herbs and vinegar!  My sister bought me a tasty apple balsamic vinegar for Christmas;  substitute a favorite vinegar if you have one or I am sure a simple rice or red wine vinegar would be tasty too.

Chunky Tomato Basil Salad Dressing

  • 1/2 cup diced or wedged tomato
  • 1 tsp fresh basil
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 2 Tbs apple balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 head romaine lettuce
  • 2 o.z. fresh mozzarella

Cut tomatoes as desired and add basil, sugar, vinegar, and olive oil.  Stir until blended; season with salt and pepper to taste.

Toss with torn lettuce and sprinkle with fresh mozzarella.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

