Guacamole ~ Homemade Chunky Style

I mention the guacamole yesterday; I don’t always make it the same way but I really enjoyed this chunky version.  The flavors all worked well together.  I’ve seen many different techniques as far as the preparation.  One thing all have in common is use of lime juice to prevent the avocado from browning and of course covering well if storing before serving.  I opted today to prep everything but the avocado in advance and add the avocado just before serving.  This worked out really well and made it easy to throw together when the time was right.

Chunky Guacamole

  • 1/2 jalapeno finely diced
  • 2 green onions thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic ~ minced ~ I used my zester for this but a garlic press works well too

  • juice of one lime
  • 2 Tbs diced tomato
  • 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1 avocado ~ chopped or mashed as desired

Combine all ingredient except for the avocado.  Set aside at room temperature until ready to serve and add the avocado just before serving.

Alternately if you wish to add the avocado early I would recommend waiting to add the tomato until time to serve or omitting completely as it can make the guacamole discolor and get a bit watery if it sets too long.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

3 thoughts on “Guacamole ~ Homemade Chunky Style

  1. That looks absolutely delicious. I love chunky guacamole, none of that green slime stuff from the store. I don’t know if you’ve ever tried this but I always add a tad bit of cumin to my guacamole, it is such a great flavour booster and I find it pairs excellently with the avocado, tomato, and whatever else is mixed in.

  2. Pingback: BLT and A ~ Bacon Lettuce and Tomato …. plus avocado « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

