Strawberry and Cilantro Salad Dressing ~ Fat Free

Ok, so making a fat-free dressing isn’t my first intent but for some reason I am not a huge fan of all the oil that is in a true vinaigrette. While making a raspberry dressing the other day I grabbed my cooking olive oil vs. the extra virgin type; I was so disappointed when I tasted what was starting to be a super combination.  Ergo my oil-less dressing was created.  I often use just balsamic vinegar on my lettuce anyway so no oil just makes sense.  We enjoyed our tossed salad with romaine lettuce, locally grown radishes, tomato, carrot, and mushrooms.  We also added some avocado to our salads; it just seemed like a natural addition with the cilantro and lime.

Strawberry Cilantro Salad Dressing

  • 1 cup fresh strawberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vinegar  ~ I used rice vinegar for a milder taste
  • 1 tsp cilantro
  • 1 Tbs lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In blender combine all ingredients. I strained my dressing through a metal sieve.  Some of the seeds still slip through and of course you lose a bit of the pepper and cilantro but it keeps most of the seeds at bay if you are sensitive or just don’t feel like contending with them in your teeth all day!

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

