Cucumbers and Onions ~ Refrigerator Pickles with a twist

This is one of my favorite summer salads.  I went by the farmers market today and one of the venders had some fresh cucumbers.  I couldn’t resist but make this combination.  Charles loves spicy food so the jalapeno was a great touch.  I don’t care to eat the jalapeno slices myself but I do enjoy the way the heat permeates through a bit and adds a nice flavor. I am sure I will post another variation or two by the time the summer is over but here is my first creation.

Cucumbers and Onions ~ Refrigerator Pickles with a twist

  • 4 small cucumbers
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 medium tomato or 4 – 5 cherry or plum tomato
  • 1 jalapeno if desired
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup vinegar ~ cider works well; today I used rice vinegar but choose your favorite

If desired peel cucumbers.  Slice cucumbers and onions; cut tomatoes into wedges and thinly slice jalapeno.

Mix sugar and vinegar and pour over cucumbers.  Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

