Fresh Basil Italian Pasta Salad

I do hope no one is getting sick of my fresh basil posts.  My herbs are growing like crazy (despite this dry, dry weather we are having) so I am trying out new things all of the time.  I seem to be on a bit of a basil kick, but it is so good!  I am addicted to the purple basil; it’s flavor is full but perfectly sweet.  I try to use a mix of the varieties when I make a recipe so any type will do.  I threw this together with some pasta I had left over from my past couple of recipes, and I couldn’t resist adding a few black olives for that tangy touch.

Fresh Basil Italian Pasta Salad

  • 2 – 3 ounces pasta
  • 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbs rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp fresh basil
  • 2 Tbs sliced black olives
  • 1 medium tomato
  • 1 green onion
  • salt and pepper

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Rinse and chill; drain well.  Prep basil by tossing with a little olive oil and slicing into thin strips ~ check out my fresh basil post for an easy technique.  Mix together pasta, olive oil, vinegar, sugar, basil, and olive.  Dice tomato and thinly slice green onion; add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

3 thoughts on “Fresh Basil Italian Pasta Salad

  1. I’ve given up trying to grow basil. Thank goodness it’s readily available and fairly inexpensive at Asian markets as I do love it. Also love your blog and I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger’s Award. Details can be found at timetobeinspired.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

