Fried Grouper Fish Sandwich

Charles picked up a package of grouper at the grocery the other day and had his heart set on a great fish sandwich.  I had in the past used cornmeal when I fry my fish along with the flour and seasonings but I didn’t have any in the house.  I have to confess I think I might have liked this better.  The flavor was superb; I made a horseradish tartar sauce to go along with that I will share tomorrow.  I really enjoy the way grouper tastes.  It makes a great sandwich and has a fantastic texture.  I think I will have to make this again in a day or so.

Fried Grouper Fish Sandwich

  • 12 ounces grouper
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp dill weed
  • black pepper
  • oil for frying

Thaw fish if frozen and pat dry.

Mix flour with seasoning.  Heat 1/4 inch or so of oil over medium high heat; dip fish into flour mixture and press gently to coat.

Cook fish for a total of 4 – 5 minutes.  I flipped mine over after about 2 1/2 minutes and sprinkled on a little more salt.  Drain on paper towels and serve. I had 4 fillets which made 2 tasty sandwiches!

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

3 thoughts on “Fried Grouper Fish Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Horseradish Tartar Sauce « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

