Stuffed Mushrooms meets Green Bean Casserole ~ Possibly my newest favorite side dish!

I couldn’t decide what to fix for a side dish tonight when the craving for green beans and mushrooms hit.  I was planning on stuffing my mushrooms but the green beans inspired me to try something new.  I loved this casserole.  It seemed to encompass all of the great qualities of a good green bean casserole and the savory deliciousness of stuffed mushrooms.  I will have to make this again; personally I don’t think there is a thing I would change about it.  I’m glad there is a little left for tomorrow!

Stuffed Mushrooms meets Green Bean Casserole ~ Possibly my newest favorite side dish!

  • 6 o.z. fresh mushrooms
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 can green beans ~ french style
  • 4 o.z. sausage
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • dash cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp garlic
  • 1/4 tsp marjoram
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 cup fresh bread cubes

Slice mushrooms; set aside stems and sauté mushroom slices in butter for about 5 minutes. Add cream and pour sautéed mushrooms into bowl and in same skillet sauté sausage, mushroom stems (diced), and onion.  Add salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic, and marjoram.  Once sausage is cooked through add chicken stock and bread cubes.  Butter medium casserole and pour drained green beans into casserole dish.

Pour mushroom and cream mixture over top of green beans.

Add stuffing mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 – 40 minutes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Stuffed Mushrooms meets Green Bean Casserole ~ Possibly my newest favorite side dish!

Leave a Reply

