Fresh from the Market ~ Homestyle Green Beans cooked to perfection

I stopped by our little local farmers market and found a few goodies today.  One of which was some fresh picked green beans.  We planted ours a bit late and although they are blooming I’m waiting for some beans to grow so I was glad to find these today.   I remember when we were kids mom would cook them for what seemed like hours.  I’ve found as I’ve gotten older I like them quickly cooked.  Don’t get me wrong I love some canned green beans so there is nothing wrong with cooking for a while, but when the opportunity presents itself I like to give them a reasonably quick cook. Different varieties make a difference too.  I am sure these were the usual blue lake variety most farmers around here grow.  I’m personally fond of the jade variety but these hit the spot and as soon as mine are ready I will be able to sauté, grill and even fry up some jewels!  Today though I went for a homestyle cook with a bit of this and that.  Vary the recipe with what you have on hand.  I happened to be cooking some sausage for breakfast so I kept a tablespoon or two of meat and the drippings from the pan to add the green beans but ham or bacon will be fabulous as well.  Even a meatless dish is tasty too just adjust to your liking.

Fresh from the Market ~ Homestyle Green Beans cooked to perfection

  • 1 quart fresh green beans
  • 1 small onion – sliced
  • a hand full of new baby potatoes – bite size or cut in pieces
  • a tablespoon or two of cooked sausage, ham, or bacon
  • a teaspoon or two of butter or fat from meat
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • water to cover

Wash and trim ends of green beans.  Place all ingredients in pan and bring to boil over medium high heat.  Reduce to medium and simmer 15 minutes until green beans are tender and potatoes are slightly soft.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

