Portobello Mushroom Burgers

I decided to make a Portobello burger today; something I’d never tried but it just sounded delicious.  My original intent was to grill them but I got busy and then had to hurry so this skillet version worked wonderfully.  Just about 5 minutes cook time was all it took.  Charles loved the Brie Cheese and its earthy flavor I liked it too, but I must confess I put cheddar on my second one.  I used the little slider buns the local grocery sells and the size was perfect.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

  • 2 medium Portobello mushrooms
  • 2 teaspoons butter or olive oil
  • 1/4 small onion
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • 4 small / slider buns
  • Brie cheese
  • lettuce
  • tomato

In medium skillet melt butter. Slice mushrooms in half horizontally.

Place each mushroom half in skillet.  Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder if desired.  Cook 3 minutes; flip over add onion slices to skillet.  Continue cooking about 2 more minutes or until mushroom is desired tenderness.  Flip mushrooms over and top with Brie slices.  Serve on buns with lettuce and tomato or your favorite toppings.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

