Zucchini Bisque ~ Creamy zucchini soup delicous hot or cold

Today marks the half way point of the year.  I started this blog just before the new year and have sort of impressed myself that I have achieved my goal of a post a day since I began.  Sort of the ultimate “new years resolution” for me I suppose.  I am not one for resolutions, traditions, or really celebrating over commercialized milestones of any type but it’s been fun thus far creating recipes daily.  Some days it is a struggle; other days I have a couple of recipes ahead.  No matter how rough my day had been or how tired I am there is something therapeutic about creating my post.  Don’t get me wrong; some days I dread this time of day but once I have finished the sense of accomplishment takes over and I am glad I got it posted.  I don’t think any of this would have come about if Charles hadn’t gotten me a camera.  I’m not sure why he chose a camera or how he knew it would be perfect.  To be honest I wondered what I would do with it for a moment …. but then we made some oyster stew, then I decided to start a blog, then I roasted some beautiful squash and had to take a picture, and then …. well you know the rest…..

Zucchini Bisque

  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1 medium zucchini ~ diced
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 tsp marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 2 clove garlic ~ smashed
  • 1 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  •  1 – 2 Tbs sour cream if desired

In medium skillet sauté onion and zucchini in butter for about 5 minutes.  Add marjoram, nutmeg, cayenne, smashed garlic cloves and 1/2 cup of the chicken stock.  Simmer for 5 minutes or until veggies are tender.

In blender combine zucchini mixture and remaining chicken stock.  Be very careful when working with hot items in a blender (Adding the remaining chicken stock will help cool the veggies).  Puree together to blend.  Pour into sauce pan and add cream.  Check flavors and add salt and pepper as desired; stir in sour cream.  Serve hot or cold.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Zucchini Bisque ~ Creamy zucchini soup delicous hot or cold

Leave a Reply

