Lemon Broccoli

I bought some broccoli at the farmers market today …. in retrospect I should have known it wasn’t the best idea.   Broccoli doesn’t like this much heat and it’s been very hot.  It tends to get bitter and I am not a huge fan of bitter.  I did a little research on how to remedy this and combined the best ideas I could find.  I must agree that it worked.  I first blanched the broccoli with a little vinegar in the water … this probably did the job alone, but I decided I wanted a lemon butter seasoning so I went ahead with my plans.  It came out very well; I must confess I purchased this fresh from the farm I did have to remove a couple of worms … they happen; I’d much rather pick out pests than contend with pesticides.  After blanching I found the 2 rather easily.  Soaking in salt water before beginning also helps so make sure and wash and check your veggies thoroughly.

Lemon Broccoli

  • 12 o.z. fresh broccoli
  • 1 quart water
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • juice of one lemon

Bring water and vinegar to boil.  Add broccoli and boil for 1 – 2 minutes.  Immediately drain and submerge in ice water for 2 minutes.  Drain and set aside until ready to cook.  In sauce pan melt butter, add lemon zest and lemon juice.  Cook broccoli 4 – 5 minutes until heated through.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

 

One thought on “Lemon Broccoli

Leave a Reply

