Gardening, Canning, Homemade Spice Blends ~ pickling spice recipe!

I grew up on a farm and participated in 10 years of 4-H.  We could pick our projects; being a bit of a girly girl I took sewing, cooking, foods preservation and such.  One thing mom always said was follow the recipe exactly and make sure you measure properly.  She didn’t get the opportunity to cook as a kid so she loved teaching us but was a stickler for doing it exactly as written.  I however am a rebel and like to make up my own concoctions and recipes.  Canning however is a bit more of a science and there are certain things you have to follow; if your acidity isn’t right or it isn’t processed correctly it can spell disaster.

A couple of years ago while flipping though my mom’s ball blue book I found a recipe for red hot sauce.  I love hot sauces but this one called for pickling spice …. weird.  I made it anyway wondering what on earth I would do with it; once I started smelling the sauce I was even more concerned about it.  One day however I was making a stir fry and decided to add it in; it is perfect in chinese style food.  Amazing even; I am sure it will be great on wings. I haven’t had any for quite a while but Charles is making a new batch or maybe 2 to can for the year.  It smells amazing; he’s documenting it as I type so I can share the recipe with you.  Today I am sharing our pickling spice blend.  I have one of those rare pantries with all of the odd herbs and spices so instead of buying a prepackaged blend he made his own.  I use a similar combination for my corned beef which helps me use up the random things like juniper berries and star anise.

Pickling spice recipe

  • 1/4 tsp yellow mustard seed
  • 4 allspice berries
  • 1/4 cinnamon stick
  • 2 bay leaves ~ crushed
  • 1/4 tsp dill seed
  • 7 cloves
  • 20 black peppercorns
  • 1 star anise
  • 1/4 tsp whole coriander
  • 4 juniper berries
  • a pinch of mace
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Gardening, Canning, Homemade Spice Blends ~ pickling spice recipe!

  1. Pingback: Red Hot Sauce ~ Spicy Pickled Sauce perfect for canning « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

