Homemade Ice Cream

I wanted to buy some ice cream the other day but then I started reading the labels; there are so many unpronounceable items in those containers even the ones that claim to be natural. I went home without any ice cream. For some reason today I picked up a container of ice cream salt and realized I should just make my own.  I remembered there was an ice cream maker in the basement that probably had been setting there for I would guess at least 20 years and likely was never used.  Well, turned out it was a yogurt maker so it must have been from the 90’s! Says it makes great ice cream too so I am ready to go.

Homemade Ice Cream

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • seeds from 2 inch piece of vanilla bean or 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup cream

Combine egg yolks, sugar, and salt.

In double boiler add egg mixture to 2 cups milk.  Begin heating over medium heat.

Heat until it begins to thicken stirring frequently.  It took about 20 minutes to reach desired thickness; mixture will lightly coat a spoon when ready. Chill until ready to continue.

Meanwhile get the ice cream machine ready. This one worked relatively simply; no need for crushed ice just regular ice cubes and salt ~ follow directions for your maker before proceeding.

Once mixture has cooled add cream and vanilla.

Add to ice cream chamber of maker and begin churning as directed.

It took about 25 minutes for my first batch of ice cream to be ready.

This particular maker turned itself off when ready; simply follow directions for yours.

Freeze for at least an hour before serving.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Homemade Ice Cream

  1. I never really bothered to look at the ingredients with Ice Cream but now..perhaps I will start. I really want to make homemade ice cream now ( I did once ) for a science experiment but that was about it. Your ice cream looks great ! Have a fantastic day. God Bless

Leave a Reply

