Sweet Potato Chowder ~ awesome homemade soup for any time of year

I made some sweet potato chowder to take to my mother-in-law’s house today.  She’s been under the weather and I thought soup might hit the spot.  I debated between chicken noodle and sweet potato chowder but the chowder won out.  I love this soup.  A lady I used to work with made this quite a bit; it’s always a favorite at the restaurant.  Our ham at work is baked in a sugary glaze so that makes it sweeter but any ham works great whether sweet or salty.  Just go with flavors you love and it will turn out perfectly. If you like it spicy it is wonderful with a diced jalapeno added at the beginning to but I thought I’d go milder for today’s lunch.

Sweet Potato Chowder

  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups diced sweet potato
  • 1 cup diced potato
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste ~ I used about 1/2 tsp each but I also had homemade chicken stock so adjust accordingly
  • 2 Tbs cornstarch
  • 2 Tbs cool water
  • 8 o.z. diced ham
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Bring chicken stock to a boil and add potatoes, onion, and seasonings.

Simmer for about 15 minutes or until veggies are just tender; stir in ham.

Combine cornstarch and cool water and add to soup; over medium heat stir until thickened about 1 minute.  Add cream and heat through.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Chowder ~ awesome homemade soup for any time of year

Leave a Reply

