Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

I see recipes all of the time for exotic grilled cheese sandwiches and they always sound and look so good but when it comes down to it I can’t resist the comfort of a Kraft singles on toasted white bread.  It’s nothing fancy; but it brings out those warm and fuzzy feelings.

It can be made in a skillet or on a griddle.  I have one of those awesome griddle / waffle / pancake makers from the 70’s …. it’s yellow and all mine!  Mom always had a silver metal one but I found this on a yard sale a few years ago and I couldn’t resist.  Once I opened it I was even more thrilled; I don’t know that it had ever been actually used!

I use it often for pancakes and I love it for grilled cheese.  I’ve tried waffles once, but I usually go with pancakes ~ guess I need to work on a waffle recipe.

Anyway, back to the grilled cheese.  I always lightly butter my bread. I don’t like to make it greasy on the outside with too much butter so I just use a little.  I remember mom telling us as kids to use the tub of margarine because butter would burn; I know now that this is not true unless you overheat the surface to begin with so butter for me; always butter.

Two slices of Kraft singles every time.

Of course the bread will go on the griddle butter side down with cheese between the slices and butter on top of the top piece.

Time will vary.  I use my griddle on a relatively hot setting; I try to not turn the dial so it’s the same temperature for pancakes too…. if using a skillet I would go for medium – medium high heat.  2 minutes usually does the first side then about 3 minutes for the other side.  Just keep an eye on it.  You can cook faster but the cheese won’t melt so a total of 5 – 6 minutes seems to get everything hot throughout.

Once both sides are toasted I like to flip back over to the first side for about 30 seconds.  This makes sure the top is warm too and allows a few seconds for the bottom to cool and release any steam and stay crunchy.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

  1. I totally agree! I’m a lover of all things cheese and try to stay away from processed foods but there’s just nothing like the good old kraft slices between two pieces of buttered, golden bread! Comfort food at its simplest 🙂

Leave a Reply

