Peas and Mushrooms

I was trying to decide what veggie to fix for dinner tonight and I remembered a Portobello mushroom I had picked up a couple of days ago.  I asked Charles how peas and mushrooms sounded and he went into story mode.  Telling me tales of his grandma fixing peas and mushrooms for special dinners.  Sometimes it was pearl onions instead of mushrooms, but the mushrooms were always his favorite.  She usually used canned mushrooms as far as he could recall; canned mushrooms will work perfectly too just omit the first step of cooking the mushrooms and add everything at the same time.

Peas and Mushrooms

  • 1 cup diced mushrooms
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 12 o.z. frozen peas
  • 1/4 cup water

Melt butter in skillet and add mushrooms; season with salt and pepper.

Cook for about 5 minutes or until desired tenderness. Add peas, garlic, and water.  Cover and simmer for 5 – 7 minutes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Peas and Mushrooms

  1. Mushrooms are my favorite. I love them soo much, and will put them in anything. So if you had asked me, I would say heck yes. I think peas, onions, and mushrooms would taste good too!

Leave a Reply

