Roasted Jalapeno ~ taking salsa to a new level

I decided I’d roast some jalapeno but I didn’t feel like firing up the grill so I thought I would find out what my broiler could do.  Not bad results; I didn’t really end up with the same charing you get from a charcoal fire, but still great results. It adds a new depth of flavor when you roast the jalapeno instead of just adding fresh to salsa or any dish you choose.

Roasted Jalapeno

  • fresh jalapeno
  • aluminum foil

Turn broiler on and place jalapeno on foil.

Broil for 5-8 minutes or until skin starts to blister and slight browning occurs.  Flip over and cook other side for 4-6 minutes until blistered as well.  Place in ziplock bag and let rest for about 5 minutes to finish softening skin.  Remove as much skin as possible and dice or slice to use in your salsa.

Roasted Jalapeno Salsa

  • 3 roasted jalapeno
  • 1 medium – large tomato
  • fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper
  • juice of 1/2 a lime

Chop tomato ~ I used an heirloom tomato from my garden so my salsa will be yellow, but very tasty.

Dice roasted jalapeno.

Chop cilantro.

Season with lime juice, salt and pepper; mix well before serving.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Roasted Jalapeno ~ taking salsa to a new level

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash ……. with Salsa | Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

