Simple Roasted Pork Loin

A pork roast is just about one of the easiest dinners to fix.  No fussing; just season it, stick it in the oven, and dinner will be served.  The one thing I notice though when I check my cookbooks for times on different size roasts is that it always seems to tell me to cook them too long.  I bought a 6 pound pork loin at the store yesterday and when I refered to my book it said 20 – 30 minutes per pound for a 4 pound roast; it didn’t really refer to a 6 pound roast in either book I checked.  Anyway, I knew 2 hours would be more than enough time and I was correct; it took just at an hour and a half for my roast to turn out perfectly.  I was flexible on time so it didn’t matter that it was ready faster; besides I knew a 20 minute rest would be good for a roast this size. My pictures don’t do it justice, it really had a nice crispy skin to it from the honey and was very moist when finished.

  • 1 pork loin roast ~ about 6 pounds
  • seasonings of choice
  • foil to line roasting pan

Line roasting pan with foil and season as desired.  I sprinkled mine with salt, pepper, garlic, cayenne, and thyme.  I then drizzled honey over the top and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees.

Bake for about 1 1/2 hours or until desired temperature is reached.  You will want to reach about 160 to 170 degrees depending on the doneness desired.  I like to shoot for the medium to medium well side so it  is still very moist. Allow to rest for at least 10 minutes before slicing.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Simple Roasted Pork Loin

  1. Pingback: Pork and Sauerkraut with Boiled Potatoes « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

