Crock Pot Recipe ~ Beef Tip Roast with Mushrooms

I don’t use my crock pot much.  It’s one of those things that finds its way to the nether regions of the cabinets and rarely sees the light of day.  I don’t have anything against it; I just forget about it!  I decided today to do a roast in my lonely old crock pot.  Wow, it was so tasty.  I know I’ve tried chuck roasts before and they don’t always come out the way I imagine but this tip roast was perfect.

  • 1 1/2 pounds sliced mushrooms
  • 1 onion ~ sliced
  • 3 # sirloin tip roast
  • 3 Tbs Sherry
  • 2 Tbs Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp crushed brown mustard seed
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

Place mushrooms in crock pot; add sliced onions on top.  Pour in sherry, vinegar, Worcestershire and half of the spices.  Place beef on top of mushrooms and onion and sprinkle with remaining spices.  Cover and turn on crock pot.  Cook on low for 8 – 10 hours.  (I actually started on high for the first hour and the cooked another 8 on low).  My crock pot was full.  I had to press down on the roast to make sure the top would set on firmly.  Once ready to serve cook some noodles and strain the broth into a sauce pan. Bring to a simmer and thicken with cornstarch.  You will need about 1 Tbs cornstarch mixed with 1 – 2 Tbs cold water to thicken each cup of liquid ~ I had about 6 cups of liquid so I used 3 Tbs cornstarch and 1/4 cup cold water ~ add this to simmering liquid and heat until thickened.  Either ladle over the top when serving or stir it all together.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

