Simple Chicken Piccata

I wasn’t able to post yesterday due to my internet being down!  Anyway, I am back up and running so without further ado….

I made a simple chicken piccata.  I opted to just use lemon juice and omit the often used wine.  I also didn’t have any fresh parsley on hand so I left that out; dried parsley just doesn’t do much but add a bit of color. The flavor came out great; fresh squeezed lemons add just the right touch and the capers compliment everything nicely. I like to season my flour for the chicken and keep the little bit of sauce simple


Simple Chicken Piccata

  • 2 boneless chicken breasts
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 2 Tbs capers

Pound chicken breasts until thin; cut each into about 4 pieces.

Combine flour, salt, pepper, cayenne and lemon zest.  Dip chicken pieces into flour combination.  In hot skillet with olive oil fry chicken pieces until cooked through and brown on both sides; about 3-5 minutes each side.

Add capers, butter, and lemon juice to pan and heat through and serve over pasta or rice if desired.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Simple Chicken Piccata

Leave a Reply

