Peanut Butter, Oatmeal, and Honey ~ Dog Treat Recipe

I decided to make my dogs a treat yesterday; I think they liked them.  They don’t usually get treats; in fact the cable guy thought I was crazy the other day when I wouldn’t let him give them a biscuit after he stopped in to hang our downed line.  I taught my “kids” not to take candy from strangers; besides I would have thought their growling would have convinced him to get back in his truck and head down the road to the problem anyway.  I tasted them too; I thought they were a bit dry, tasted of flour too much, and needed more peanut butter and honey.  The dogs however keep coming back for more so to each his own.

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 Tbs honey

Mix together dry ingredients and stir in remaining ingredients. Turn onto floured surface and knead a bit to work in the bits of flour that likely remained from stirring. Roll out to about 1/4 inch thick and cut with small cookie cutters.

Bake on lightly oiled baking sheets at 375 degrees for about 12 minutes.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

