Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Thought I would experiment with my new slow cooker.  I purchased a 3 quart recently and hadn’t used it yet.  I really wanted the 3 quart after much thought.  The stores try to trick you into larger ones but this size just seemed ideal for the two of us.

Now on to the soup; it didn’t come out quite how I was hoping but it was still very tasty.  I used some tiny star pasta and against most of the advise I read online I added it from the start.  Well, it kind of disintegrated so I suppose that wasn’t the right approach.  I would have added some meat but I didn’t have any in the house so that would have made a difference too I am sure.  I’ll post it as I made it and will make it again soon with some alterations.

  • 1 cup carrots
  • 1/2 cup celery
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1 cup potatoes
  • 1/2 cup lima beans
  • 1/4 cup peas
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1/2 cup green beans
  • 3 cups beef stock
  • 1 can whole tomatoes
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • I added 1/4 cup mini star pasta but it fell apart so maybe skip this step!
  • 1/4 tsp marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Prep veggies and cut to desired size; you can even use a mix of frozen vegetables if you prefer. Add to crock pot along with remaining ingredients.  Cook over low heat for 6 – 8 hours.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

