Roasted California Blend Vegetables

I like to come up with new ways to fix my veggies.  I think the combination of cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots are a great dish.  Today I decided to broil them for a few minutes just to see what would happen.  It was delicious.

  • fresh sliced carrots
  • fresh cauliflower florets
  • fresh broccoli florets
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic and cayenne or any spices desired

I started by blanching the vegetables for 2 minutes in boiling water and strain into ice water too cool.

Once cool, drain the veggies and toss with a little bit of olive oil and seasoning.  Spread onto buttered baking sheet and broil a few inches from the heat for about 10 – 12 minutes or until desired doneness.  I used the second rack from the top of my oven for the broiling position; I think next time I will try them closer to the heat source so I would assume they will cook faster; just keep an eye on them and serve when ready.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

