Spicy Cheesy Grits

I always wonder to myself  why I don’t fix grits more often.  I like them; in fact I love them, at least in the savory form.  I don’t remember eating them as a kid and I don’t know that I’d ever had them before I’d tried the shrimp and grits a gal at work made a couple of years ago. Today I did a deliciously spicy and cheesy version.

  • 1 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/3 cup grits
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese
  • 1 Tbs sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring stock to a boil and add grits and crushed red pepper.  Simmer covered over low heat for about 12 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.  Add cheese; cover and let rest for about 5 minutes.  Stir in sour cream; check if flavor adding salt and pepper if needed.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

Leave a Reply

