Fried Catfish Fillets

I love good catfish, it’s hard to find in the stores most days and I’m not much of a fisherman so when my boss got in a case of catfish fillets for a banquet I had to get some of the extras from him.  It was a very mild farm raised catfish.  So moist and tender; I like a combination of cornmeal and flour; I always have troubles getting it seasoned just right but I hate to overdo.

DSCN3309 (640x480)

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 Tbs flour
  • 1 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

Mix together cornmeal, flour, and spices.  Adjust to your liking.  We enjoy a bit of heat and a salty mix; this however wasn’t overly seasoned in any way so  I added a sprinkle of cayenne and salt after frying.

Heat about 1/4 – 1/2 inch of oil in a large skillet.  Toss fish fillets in flour mixture and shake off excess. Our fillets were cut in half and about 3 o.z each I would estimate.  Once oil is hot fry for about 3 minutes each side or until fish flakes easily.

DSCN3310 (640x480)

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Fried Catfish Fillets

  1. Pingback: Tabasco Lime and Dill Sauce « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

