Flavored Salt – Cilantro Lime Sea Salt

I keep seeing stories and recipes for flavored salts.  I thought I would give a few a try; today I went for a cilantro lime combination.  I made it when I was ready to use it so I didn’t worry about the moisture from the lime zest or cilantro; I do think I will make a batch ahead and dry it out though to see if it hold the flavor as well as the fresh did.

DSCN3349 (640x480)

  • 2 tsp fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp lime zest

In herb grinder (I used a coffee grinder I picked up just for these herb salts) combine all ingredients and grind together.  This made the perfect amount for the pound of fish I was fixing for dinner.  Very green color and it imparted the flavors into each other very well.  I wouldn’t have expected this much difference between grinding everything together and just using each on its own but it definitely made a great flavored salt.  I can think of so many things this would be good on or in!  Can’t wait to use it again.

Enjoy ~ Kimberly

One thought on “Flavored Salt – Cilantro Lime Sea Salt

  1. Pingback: Pan Seared Ocean Perch with Cilantro and Lime Salt and Fresh Salsa « Charles and Kimberly's Recipes

Leave a Reply

